Working the kinks out…

20130404-001629.jpg

So it’s been a couple weeks since I posted, I caught a nasty cold and didnt ride for about a week and a half. So after I got my bike back i put about 50 miles on it, it shifted beautiful and the front end was extremely lighter switching from an aluminum stem and bars to carbon. Not only lighter but the bars and stem absorb a lot of road vibration which is a huge plus!

My only problem i ran in too was I had some chain issues due to switching from a compact to a regular crank, the chain seemed to rub on the small chain ring when I was in my 12 tooth gear. So I took my bike back to my LBS Flanders bikes on slo to have the bike magicians take a look at it.

I was informed that this is a quite common issue and is caused by the chain flexing too much and being over stretched to one side, it happens when either the chain is on the small ring and 12 tooth cog and inversely when it’s on the large chainring and 25 tooth cog. I didn’t notice it too much when I was running the compact crank but it showed up the the standard crank.

With that issue being resolved I can now evaluate how the bike rides after totally switching out the drive train. Going from a compact to a standard gear ratio make it seem like riding a totally new bike.

Before I used to ride in my small ring and usually in the last 2-3 gears, now I’m riding in the middle of the cassette, the bike feels faster on straight aways and down hills but I fell the opposite up hills. I notice the extra teeth in the ring climbing hills not as fast as I was riding the compact, it’s defiantly going to take some getting used to riding the standard ratio but I think it will make me a stronger rider in the end.

All in all the bike rides great and I can’t wait to take it on some longer rides! So with that being said I’m going to be attending the seaotter classic in Monterey CA april 18-21, this is a huge event for mtb, road bikes and cyclocross, and I will be taking part in the 1/2 century on the coast. Ill be reviewing a ton of bike and accessories from the event so stay tuned and check out http://www.seaotterclassic.com/

20130404-005357.jpg

Leave a Reply

