Product review!!! Wtb silverado slimline

20130501-150049.jpg

Up for review is the wtb silverado slimline saddle. Made for either road bikes or mtb the silverado offers durability, comfort and fairly light all at a reasonable price. Specs are as followed for the chromoly rail version

RAIL: Ni-Cro
COLOR: Black, White
WEIGHT: 245g
DETAILS:
Synthetic Cover, Flex-Tuned shell, Comfort Zone, ABR corners, DNA padding

After riding my stock felt saddle and it not working well on my downstairs parts I decided to look into a new saddle. Not knowing where to start I headed to my local shop to get a few ideas. Normally the guys at my local shop have an answer for just about every question I had. Being a small independent shop and brand new as well their limited to product on hand, and I really had no idea where to start.

So after being loyal to my usual shop my entire cycling experience I ventured out to a larger still independent shop in my area and found out they had a saddle fitment program. For 30$ deposit you can ride as many seats as you want for 30 days and the deposit goes towards the price of the seat.

While not having any idea where to start I explained what I didn’t like about my current stock seat and went from there. This particular shop had 2 different brands to choose from wtb and selle italia, with wtb being the more affordable option.

I started off with the valcon and rode on it for a about 40 miles and it wasnt quite to my likening, it didnt fit me very well. Then I went to the silverado which was way better fit. I put about 50 miles on it and was fairly happy but decided to see if a other one would work better. I went from the silverado to the Vigo, which pretty much was a giant step backwards. So after riding the Vigo for about 40 miles I went back to the silverado. They only had the titanium rail version in stock so they ordered me the chromoly version and it was only about 50 grams more.

So after I ordered it, it took about 10 business days to get there, when it came in I took my bike in to get it put on and didnt ride it for about 3 weeks due to my hectic work schedule. The first real ride I did was the half century grand fondo, and this saddle really proved its worth, kept me comfortable for over 4 1/2 hours of riding. All in all I was pretty Impressed with this saddle in many ways one being when I talked to a wtb rep at the sea otter that they have a program where if you save your receipt and your wtb saddle is damaged during a crash they will give you a discount on a new saddle.

So if your looking for a new saddle check with your local shop and see if they have a fitment program and start there. I chose the wtb silverado based on comfort and price. This particular saddle might or might not work for you ride few different ones and put some miles down on them to really get an idea.

20130501-154744.jpg

Leave a Reply

