Gear review! Pedros apprentice tool kit

Well I’ve been getting back in to the swing of things since my accident, my chiropractor gave me the go ahead to start back at the gym and start riding again. Before my accident the good folks at pedros sent me and apprentice tool kit to review.

20130826-023104.jpg

I was instantly impressed when I first opened up the nice molded plastic container and saw that each too has a spot cut out of foam for it, makes it easy to keep track of the tools. The kit come with 22 different tools which are nicely painted and have comfy grips and extra long handles on the 15mm and the cassette wrench. The full list of tools is as followed. Backed by Pedro’s lifetime warranty.

Tool List
• 7pc L Hex Set w/ Holder: 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 5, and 6mm hex sizes
• 8mm L Hex
• Y-Torx, T10,T25,T30
• Tire Lever Pair – Yellow
• Splined Bottom Bracket Socket
• Cassette Lockring Socket
• Bottom Bracket Wrench
• Phillips #2 Screwdriver
• Flat 5.5mm Screwdriver
• Universal Crank Puller
• Equalizer Pedal Wrench w/ 24mm Socket
• Six-Pack Chain Tool with Spoke Wrenches (3.2, 3.3 and 3.5mm)
• Cable Cutter
• Cog Wrench
• Toothbrush

20130826-023726.jpg

So far I have used the pedal wrench/15mm to switch from the dual sides shimano pedals with cages to some crank bros candy pedals, which I will be reviewing in the future, and I’ve also used the crank arm puller and bottom bracket removal tool when I switched out my bottom bracket. A nice feature they included was an extra long 8mm Allen to get some serious torque when I was repress fitting the crank to the new bottom bracket

20130826-024313.jpg

20130826-024337.jpg

As I home bike mechanic I really liked this kit, it gives you everything to pretty much build a bike from the frame up, I really like the fact that they include some nice cable cutters for the brake and shifter cables. I first used pedros levers and then the fixie tool and really liked how they preformed and were made and this kit preformed just the same. The only complaint I have is that the 2 largest wrenches fall out of their cut out foam spots, but other than that it’s a great kit! So if your looking for a nice multi tool or just some quality tire levers or a full tool kit go check out pedros
You will not be disappointed! This kit retailed on the site for $285 but I saw it for as low as $249 on par with what park is charging for a similar kit, quality cost a bit but worth it when you don’t have to re-buy tools over, it goes with the theory of buy once cry once. These tools are made to last!

Leave a Reply

