One step forward, two steps back….

Happy new you all,

had grand plans for this year all which have been put on hold for the time being. I planned to ride 1000 miles this year and drop the weight i gained as a result on not being able to work out or ride. Last week i saw my pain management Dr when i had gotten steroid shots in my lower back to reduce inflammation in the 2 bulging discs in my L4 and L5 vertebrate. The injections worked great and reduced the pain in my lower back considerably. My Dr gave me the go ahead to start working out normally and riding again for the first time since late july. I signed up for a 30 day fitness challenge and made plans to go out on my usual ride. So the following sat i set out for my first real ride in almost six months, as result of not being able to work out i gowned almost 20 lbs i was determined to drop through diet and exercise. That decision proved to be a terrible one…

I set out on my usual ride and was about 6 miles in to the 25 i normally ride, when a car traveling next to me decided to make a right hand turn in front of me as i was going aprox 30+ mph, i had very little time to react which left me no other option to plow straight in to the passenger side of he car. As i picked my self up off the ground i was obviously in a great deal of pain, i noticed my right elbow was bleeding quite profusely along with my right knee. The driver who did stop and am thankful for apologized and stated several times that they didn’t see me, me being 6’0″ 285 lbs and wearing a neon green and blue cycling kit as well as having my headlight and tail light on and blinking. All i could think about after self assessing my body was how bad would this make my previous injuries worse.

Not only was my bike in shambles but now the adrenaline was wearing off and my injuries were starting to show them self. My elbow seemed to be the worst but the but my compression sleeve hid the fact that i was bleeding like a stuck pig. The person who hit me offered me a ride home, so I crammed my busted bike in the trunk of her car and she dropped my off at my house. When i got home the shock of the event  was wearing off and I decided to call the local pd and report it. After I reported what happened i drove my self to the hospital where i was treated for my injuries. i hand mostly some road rash and bruises but my elbow required more attention 6 stitches more attention to be exact.

IMG_0800

IMG_0806IMG_0812IMG_0813IMG_0817IMG_0819

So the damage to my bike look pretty extensive the front rim is pretty tacoed which suck because i recently upgraded fro the easton ea50 to a nice set of mavic ksryium elite which rolled rather nice for the first 6 miles i rode them. My saddle WTB silverado which i had done so much test riding for was toast, the FSA k force light bars were cracked and both of my shifters are garbage, i also suspect my rear shimano 105 derailer took a fair bit of abuse and is also junk now, the front end too most of the damage but until i take it to my  mechanic i can only see the main stuff. All in all I’m pretty lucky to walk away from this, my bike and all the parts on it are replaceable my health on the other hand is not. My bell sweep xc did a great job of keeping my head in one piece as it bounced off the car door and the asphalt. As careful as you are when your riding you can’t take account for the one person who’s not paying attention. If this has taught me anything its to always be aware of you surrounding and don’t think people can obvious see you always assume that they can’t. No one is responsible for you safety except for you! So as a new year is upon us I will be updating more frequently than i have in the past. Stay tuned for my coverage of my second year of the sea otter classic, I’ve already reserved my campsite and hopefully ill be able to ride the coastal fondo route. If you make it out to the seaotterclassic come by my camp for a refreshing adult beverage.

8 thoughts on “One step forward, two steps back….

  1. It seems no matter where you are in the world, it’s dangerous to ride on the road these days. You are lucky in the fact that it could have been much, much worse – but it still sucks big time to be a victim of someone else’s poor attention. Looking forward to reading about your experiences at Sea Otter – I’ve wanted to head along to this for many years to race the Dual Slalom and DH events, as well as checking out the expo!

    • yeas I’m rather lucky, 2 cyclists were hit a couple months ago and one was seriously injured and one was killed in the town i live in the driver was caught and is in jail facing charges, i have taken that route several times and its always in the back of my head that something like that could happen. I’m also lucky to live 2 1/2 hours south of laguna seca, if you do happen to make it out come by my camp for a refreshing beverage

  2. Hey hey hey- we met at the WTB booth during Sea Otter 2013. We talked about being bigger riders, saddles and bikes.

    It is hard being a cyclist, sometimes, and fighting to stay alive out there on the roads. I’m glad the person stopped and helped you. I hope you got their info so you can file a claim for your equipment and physical pain!

    Drop me an email so I can chat with you about a replacement Silverado (or alternate) saddle, when you have the time. No rush. Just remind me about this post if you don’t email me for a few months. info[at]wtb[dot]com

Leave a Reply

