Gear review Connex 11sp SO chain

Screen Shot 2016-01-17 at 1.52.09 PM

This gear review has been about 8 months in the making. At the last years seaotter i talked with a rep from the Connex booth and i was really interested in trying out their chain. They were cool enough to send me out one to ry out. To me a chain is a chain but what really stood out to me with the connex chain was their connector link. Their link was different than any one I’ve seen, sram shimano and kmc all have a pretty similar system where the link together

And they snap together and usually require tools to separate thempower link

 

The connex link is in my opinion quite superior to all the others I’ve used. connex link

It doesn’t require and tools to install and it makes it super easy to take on and off for cleaning. it slides in to place and stays in place with tension and the unique design. I’ve put about 1000 miles on this chain since i installed this chain and i couldn’t be happier. the chain shifts super smooth and because its easy to take off and deep clean i can get it cleaner than a standard chain. I can really get in all the places you can’t when its on the bike. I will usually clean and lube my chain every other ride sometimes if I’m lazy ill go 3 rides in between cleaning and lubes, but with the connex i could take the whole thing off clean it and reinstall it in about the same time i would spend with my old chain.Screen Shot 2016-01-17 at 1.55.47 PMScreen Shot 2016-01-17 at 1.56.05 PM

 

Its super easy to put together, the performance of the chain was great, it shifted smooth in every gear and was quiet as well. The link is shaped slightly different but doesn’t effect shifting or performance. If you’re in the market for a new chain that’s easy to maintain give the Connex chain a try. Make sure and check out the Connex website to see their full line of products or purchase directly from the cantitoeroad 


  
 

3 thoughts on “Gear review Connex 11sp SO chain

  1. Great info sir! I’ll have to check them out. I wonder if I can buy just the link and would it fit a sram/shimano chain…

    Geo

Leave a Reply

